Catalonia, Spain


Catalonia is an autonomous community on the northeastern corner of Spain. Catalonia consists of four provinces: Barcelona, Girona, Lleida, and Tarragona. The capital and largest city is Barcelona, which is the second-most populated municipality in Spain and the core of the sixth most populous urban area in the European Union. Catalonia is bordered by France and Andorra to the north, the Mediterranean Sea to the east, and the Spanish autonomous communities of Aragon to the west and Valencia to the south. The official languages are Catalan, Spanish, and the Aranese dialect of Occitan.


1. Operational Program ‘Catalonia’ 2007-2013
On 7 December 2007, the European Commission approved a Community Operational Programme for the Autonomous Community of Catalonia in Spain for the period 2007-2013. This Operational Programme came under the Regional Competitiveness and Employment Objective; its total budget is around €1.4 billion. The funding provided by the European Union under the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) amounts to almost €679 million, which represents around 1.9% of Community contributions in support of Spain in the framework of cohesion policy for the period 2007-2013.
The aims and purpose of the program comprised of the development of the knowledge economy, research and technological development (RTD), the information society, business development and local and urban sustainable development are at the heart of Catalonia’s strategy for sustainable, integrated development. Its ultimate aim is to enhance the attractiveness of the region and the overall competitiveness of its economic system.

2. Cataluña ERDF 2014-20 OP
The Program aims to boost economic growth in the region of Catalonia and to help it contribute to Europe reaching its goals of smart, green growth for all. EU funding is targeted, according to the agreed regional smart specialization strategy – primarily on Research, Development and Innovation (R+D+I) and improved access to and quality of information and communication technologies (ICT) – as well as an increase of their use in the public and the private sector (e-government, e-commerce).
The Program will strengthen research and innovation infrastructure and networks – including linkages with private companies, and enhanced knowledge transfer between enterprises and research institutions.
SME competitiveness will be improved through enhanced access to credit, as well as advisory and other specialized services provided.
Finally, the program will result in more renewable energy production (in particular biomass), better energy efficiency (in the private and public sector) and green public transport in cities.



Image credits: Pixabay


  • Main local events
    Events that are an official part of the project
  • Side events
    Events relevant to the project